Bang not Whimper

I had this wonderful conversation with one of my undergrad professors yesterday and we were talking about work and I told him I feel like the hardest thing right now is prioritizing.  I don’t know when to hunker down and work on something long versus how much of these short interviews/reviews to do versus whether I should really push to publish something academic since it’s about one year from my inevitable job hunt.

What I’m getting at here is that this blog has slipped down in priorities and I think that doesn’t matter, but I do need to transition to some sort of non-blog-based web presence in the not so distant future.  Any suggestions on that front would be fantastic – what are your favorite author sites?

2016 has gotten off to a good start.  I already occasionally use a standing desk, but one of my first investments of the year was an exercise bike with a desk attached.  I’m using it while watching television and getting my morning interneting done – I don’t think I could read on it, but I think it works well for most other things.  I think we need to tell beginning writers/academics more often that so much of getting started is figuring out how to make being hunched over your desk for a long time work out for you.  You don’t just have to do it, you have to do it while remaining healthy (physically, emotionally, socially, financially) and productive.  That looks different for everyone.

I’ve also written a letter, went on a mini road trip, and baked – all things I want to do more of in 2016.  I think I’ve hit the pinnacle of hipsterness by drinking some small-batch tonic and enjoying it.

I don’t know what my goals are for writing.  I think I want to get something academic published before I start job hunting.  I want to review only books by people of color, women, or translated authors.  I have a new job as a blogger for Ploughshares, which I’m pretty pumped about.  I’ll be doing an interview with a translator for them once a month.  I also want to pitch some long-form journalism.  We’ll see what happens.

Outside Content:

Gender gap in translation.

Lots of good Star Wars writing out there.  This has minor spoilers and was one of my favorites.

We’re a little past the season, but here’s Neil Gaiman reading A Christmas Carol.

Leave a Reply

